Graduation

May 29, 2013

Today my son is graduating from university and  I can’t stop wondering just how it is that we got here – so fast. It seems to me that we were just playing Transformers and Star Wars, or building complex forts out of  Lego. I remember how exciting it was for him to take his saved up pennies to the toy store and choose a new Hot Wheels car.

I remember vividly, all the magic of preschool with its songs and mountains of art work. Then came Elementary school with  those sometimes painful concerts, creative fundraising events and the newness of homework. High school followed with emergence of a sense of  independence, intensive projects, and the newness of studying for exams.  In university, I haven’t had to ask him about his homework – just whether he’d be home for dinner or not.

I can still see us walking around downtown, it was probably about 20 years ago –  and passing the impressive gates and tree-lined road that leads to the  to the university which sits at the top of a hill.  He was about 4 years old at the time – still willing to hold my hand – and he asked me what that huge building was. I told him it would probably be the school he would go to when he was a grown-up man – a time that was so far into the future that I could barely make out its shape.

Each time my son has graduated from one phase in his life to the next – so have I…something that I’m sure he has never realized.

I wonder if he will take my hand today – even for the briefest  moment ….. as I cross another invisible stage, alongside him.

Leave a Reply

