Just One More

January 28, 2013

We’ve been in a bitterly cold deep-freeze lately and last week, on a particularly cold dark afternoon one of my children at work crawled onto my lap seeking refuge from winter’s grasp. I held her close and as I unwrapped the scarf I was wearing around my neck and re-wrapped it around her like a blanket, she almost seemed to melt as she snuggled in…and I drank in the moment. I thought about how, although I have three wonderful children of my own, I have always felt that my heart could hold more. Perhaps had things been different, i.e: timing, money etc. (all the usual stuff!) I would have had another child – just one more. Then a funny thing happened –  at that moment, in the silence of our snuggle, it occurred to me that I do have another child, in fact, I have 54 more. I still get to share my heart…my hugs, my silliness, my creativity…. and maybe, just maybe, the love that I get to share with all those children, everyday, is ultimately more important in my life’s journey than the love that I would have shared with – just one more.

One Response to “Just One More”

  1. nives degano Says:

    Beautifully said. Those children are lucky to have you!!!xo


Leave a Reply

