Fall Back

September 20, 2012

On my lunch hour today I decided to walk over to my  parents’ home – they live one street over from where I work. We used to live in the same duplex – my children were born not realizing that most children do not get to walk downstairs to see Grandma and Grandpa in their pyjamas.

As the warm, late September sun shone down so golden all around me, I breathed in the crisp cool air and I walked the same path that I had walked for 14 years. Unexpectedly, with each step I took, I felt the growing lump in my throat rise higher and high until it finally met my eyes causing them too glisten…it felt like yesterday…and forever ago – all at the same time. I found myself suddenly missing my young children.The path was so familiar – only the trees were bigger, and the smell of the fallen leaves and autumn flowers were still the same.Maybe I was mistaken. Maybe I had just dropped them off at pre-school and was going home to bake cookies.Couldn’t they just be 5 and 3 again….please?

Reaching at the corner of my old street I stopped. I stopped and stood still and closing my eyes, I lifted my face to the sky and let the autumn sun wash over me…and for a moment, let myself Fall Back into Yesterday.

One Response to “Fall Back”

  1. nives degano Says:

    You voiced my sentiments, exactly!!! It’s not that you don’t want to move forward but time just seems to be flying by!!! Enjoy the sun!!


Leave a Reply

