Dreams Do Come True

August 14, 2012

My son is arriving home today after being away in Europe for 6 weeks.Yesterday, he sent me a picture of himself standing at a historical site and told me that one of his long-time dreams had been met by going there. He looks radiant in the photo – happy and fulfilled, and of course, I wish that I could have been there at that moment with him. We all want to be “right there” when our children realize a dream.

The whole family is anxious to have him back and yet I know that when I hug him, I will feel a little piece of him missing – a little piece of my once-young boy, who was inspired by a book – years ago, to travel to this place. That little piece is still standing by the crumbling wall – perhaps waiting for him to return someday.

Leave a Reply

