The Eyes DON’T Have it!

July 27, 2012

Just before school ended, I took my youngest for her first pedicure to celebrate both summer, and her graduation. We had a great “girls” morning – sitting side by side, working the massage chairs and giggling together. She chose a fabulous teal blue color for her polish and it looked great on her lovely young toes. Then she sat ever so patiently for the next 20 minutes while they had to scrub, buff and take my foot down one size before applying polish, which by the way, was a watermelon shade (oh yeah – I was going wild!). When we got home, I had my husband come out and take a picture of our feet together – toe to toe – while the polish still looked so summery good and shiny. Cute, artsy and a nice memory…..or so I thought.

I decided to make that picture my desktop background – bright and cheerful. As it came up on my computer this morning, I brushed away a tiny piece of debris off the screen…what is that? It wouldn’t come off. I put on my reading glasses (whole other blog!) and brushed it away again …seems a hair was stuck to my screen… the static – I supposed.

W – H -A – T?  That’s no issue of static – old girl – that is a hair on my toe! A hair on my toe? Are you kidding me? When did that thing start growing and why haven’t I noticed it before? And that other rounded edge of my foot – is that a bunion developing? What the-?

Clearly – I need to pay closer attention to my slowly migrating physical youth,  and I think I need to swap out my reading glasses for something a lot more permanent….who knows what else I’ve been missing! Good Lord – I don’t want to end up one of those older ladies who apply lipstick, not only on their lips, but all around it too! Have I been doing it already, I wonder?

ring….ring…Hello Dr. Mark? I’m overdue for that eye exam…..

2 Responses to “The Eyes DON’T Have it!”

  1. nives degano Says:

    If it’s of any consolation I had toe hair(too much info!) since my twenties, so count yourself lucky!! I don’t think you will ever be that lady that over smears her lipstick, Miss Hotlips in personna!!!!xoxo

  2. Teresa Cleveland Wendel Says:

    My dear old auntie, quite glamorous to me, started getting dustings of loose face powder on the front of her blouses. I couldn’t understand how she didn’t notice until I got older and realized she couldn’t see it.


Leave a Reply

