Little Girl Lost

November 18, 2011

I have a wonderful life. I have everything that I could have ever hoped for…lucky lady,that I am. Still, I won’t lie to you, there are moments when I long for the girl I used to be…the girl that lives deep within. The girl who stumbles over her words at the most inopportune times, the girl who isn’t sure what to do at a given moment – even though everyone else is so sure of me. Every once in a while I look back to a day long ago when everything was so fresh and new – when people were discovering me with an eager fascination – interested in my every thought and dream…hanging onto my every word. Oh, I still get that now – only the eyes and ears focussed on me belong to three and four olds who believe that I hold the magic  – in my magic bag. Don’t get me wrong – I’m grateful…I am so grateful…but sometimes that tiny voice whispers from deep within….I barely hear it…barely hear her…barely hear me…but if I get quiet enough, it’s still there. Thank goodness for that because she’s hard to see in the mirror anymore.

Leave a Reply

