Sloppy Joes

September 25, 2011

My youngest child asked me if I could make Sloppy Joes for dinner one night…so tonight is the night and suddenly as the beef and onion are browning and intermingling with the tomato sauce and sugar….I am a young bride once again. I see my husband and I, way, way, way  pre-children, children not even being a discussable idea. We are newlyweds, living in the basement apartment of my parents triplex and at this point in our lives I am not even sure how well done he likes his toast …at this sweet, tender point…twenty five years ago…so much yet to discover, so much to dream about.  Back then, our lives were was about waking, eating and going back to “bed”…maybe several times before we actually ventured out into the world to do laundry or groceries or any of those daily chores that back then, still held some romance to them – as silly as that sounds. My God but we lived and loved on air back then! No one to consider but each other – no bedtimes to abide by – no Monday Morning Meetings at work, no lunches to prepare – who plans eating when they’re newly in love?

Life is most lovely now – most comfy – a term I would have hated to hear back then  as that new young bride – but now – I see it as the comfort that will take me through the rest of my life.

Tonight, I’m sitting in front of an emotional fireplace…..and I’m smiling.

Leave a Reply

