Isn’t there an App for that?

July 29, 2011

“Money is the root of all evil.” as the saying goes…I don’t know about ALL evil – but yeah, probably a hefty portion of it. It isn’t the money itself – but the “getting” of it that crosses over into evil. Gosh, no matter how you slice it – there isn’t enough. Now, I’m sure if you’re Oprah – there’s enough….but for most of us out here, it truly does go in one hand and out the other.

My paycheque is a Virtual Paycheque. I know I was paid, I saw it in the account (ever so briefly) and Poof! Before I can get my hands on it – it’s gone! I mean, I shouldn’t complain, because I am able to buy groceries for my family – although on a very limited budget but wow, I’ve had to get incredibly creative with the meals (Hey Kids- look! It’s a Leaning Tower of Hamburger!). It takes me an hour and a half to DO the groceries because I spend so much damn time  just comparing and consulting brands/prices and thinking to myself  “do I really need this or can I get away without it one more week?”  I don’t understand why I practically  need a loan to purchase fruits and vegetables…I already have one to buy gas for my car. That’s another thing…why is it when I my gas tank is on E and put $30 in – it only fills it 1/4 tank? Then 3 days later when I’m at 1/8 tank I fill it with another $30. and still only goes to 1/4 tank? Sometimes when it goes up 10 cents a litre, I ask for day old gas….the guy only half smiles.

The crazy thing is that my husband and I make a seemingly good salary together…on paper, anyway. We don’t buy anything we don’t need (any more!), we don’t go to movies or restaurants because with three kids (2 of whom are basically adults 18 and 20 – in university) it’s like feeding a family of 4 adults and 1 child. The big kids are good about their own clothes etc. School supplies is a constant spend as one of them is in an art program (have you any idea how much a paint brush is?!) but it’s fine – it’s worth it to me because that is who she is and what her dreams are to be, and if I’m helping her achieve her dream…well – that’s my pleasure and quite frankly, as a parent – I feel that it’s my job.  I’ve taken on extra work when I can,  but the flip side of that is that I DO need to be here for my family – for homework (younger one) and to be home just to be a part of my family and stay on top of family issues that crop up from time to time.

I don’t really want to be rich (although I am confident that I would make a fabulous rich person!) just want a bit of extra for the little stuff – like city daycamp for my younger child, or a pair of new (Wal-Mart priced) sneakers for her, or the dog’s vaccination shots…not fun stuff – just regular living stuff, but frustratingly, there is only so many ways that you can “cut up” a dollar bill.

Hmmmm -I wonder if  there is some kind of an app for making money?

One Response to “Isn’t there an App for that?”

  1. Nancy Macdonald Says:

    Glad to hear that I am not the only one cutting up the darned dollar bills… between a sick cat, softball fees (for intercity and select teams) and inter-city soccer fees there were no dollars left for vacation this summer 😦
    Fortunately, my father-in-law provided us with use of his cottage and we managed to get some quality family-time together.. alberit while eating hamburger helper but it was nice just the same! LOL!


Leave a Reply

