Frantic Insomniac

February 22, 2011

2:30 am. Only three and a half  hours before I have to get up. Turn over. Fluff my pillow. Turn over again.Sigh…..I pop my head up to check the time (yes, yes, I know you’re not supposed to do that).Oh,oh! Now it’s 3:15 – only less than three hours left before I have to get up. I lay back down, shut my eyes tight, flip my pillow over and pull the covers up – all the while I’m thinking “have to fall asleep,have to fall asleep,have to fall asleep…..why can’t I sleep!” I lay perfectly still, try some deep breathing exercises and relax all my muscles…I start to feel a bit drowsy…ahhhh…there I go, about to slip into sweet slumber – until I suddenly remember something I forgot to do yesterday -Ping! I’m awake again. Then crazy thoughts start to swirl around in my head – worries, thoughts – my brain suddenly decides that this is a good time to rehash everything I’ve ever said or done….going further back in time than is sane. I try to clear my head and shake out those ridiculous thoughts….pop my head up again – now it’s 4:30…oh geez – and hour and a half before I have to get up…now, I’m starting to stress about how I’m going to get through the day feeling so exhausted…..more thoughts to keep me awake. Fluff my pillow again and roll over….then roll over the other way. Throw off the covers to cool down. Pull the covers back up to warm up. Pop my head up to check the clock – 5 am. Sigh. Why don’t I just get up now? At least I’ll have time to write a blog before I go to work.

I’m starting to yawn – already thinking about going to bed tonight……zzzzzzzz

 

Leave a Reply

