Turtleneck – and I don’t mean the sweater!

September 5, 2010

What has happened – could someone just tell me?

Last week I was getting ready for one my dearest friend’s wedding. This is  a wedding we’ve all been looking forward to – my friend had finally met her Prince Charming (and I do mean Prince Charming; he comes Disney-close!).  Instead of searching through and finding  one I can squeeze into I am happily surprised to find that after some hard work, I now fit into several and actually have a choice! So, choose away, I do and then setting at my dressing table to put on my make-up. WHAT IS THAT? My eye lid suddenly seems to have a funny crease in it – I can’t sweep the “Mysterious Mauve” eyeshadow on – it keeps wanting to setting in that odd crease….I have to put on my reading glasses to get a better look in the 4x the magnification mirror that I now need to use. OMG! It’s not exactly a “crease” – it’s more like my eye lid has kind of “fallen”! What the – ?

How does this happen – can someone please explain this to me – because I’m just not getting it.I mean, I knew it would happen eventually – these little aging signs. But why don’t they happen slowly – why does it happen all of a sudden?

BAM! there goes your eye lid –

BAM! you have rings around your neck like some old tree….go ahead – count’em!

BAM – your lipstick is now traveling up into your nostrils –

BAM! you need someone to help lift your butt back up and  place it into a good pair of Spanx so that your dress fits properly

I don’t mind getting older – really, I don’t – but I do mind that there’s no warning no warning at all…..or….was I just not wearing my glasses again?

One Response to “Turtleneck – and I don’t mean the sweater!”


  1. This is a great post, Sassytalk, and just the kind of thing we love over at VibrantNation.com. I’d love to talk to you about republishing your blog on our site. If you’re interested, send me an email.


Leave a Reply

