Time

July 9, 2010

“Time is priceless, yet it costs us nothing. You can do anything you want with it, but you can’t own it. You can spend it, but you can’t keep it. And once you’ve lost it, there is no getting it back. It’s just gone.”

I heard this quote on the TV show Medium and I felt as though I had been hit in the head with a baseball bat. How bittersweet and beautifully accurate.

I watch parents with their young children – hurrying them, rushing them – so quick to deposit them somewhere so that they can get onto their “adult time”…and I think to myself “Hold on to this moment, people – Hold on – it will be gone in a blink.”

It’s not like I don’t remember being exhausted from  diapers, toilet training and endless hours at the park (we all remember that blog!). I know that Lego loses it’s challenging appeal after awhile, as does Playdoh – and Dora the Explorer is just plain loud. I also remember it taking far too long to get to the grocery store because my child was examining every leaf – and yet – at that time in my life I seemed to have the insight that those moments where about to slip through my fingers…so I stopped – often…and you know what? I still got the groceries (and thousands of dollars of groceries for years after that!)….but more importantly, I held the moment…I still do – in my heart.

Time….we have absolutely no control over it – we are powerless to hold onto it – but if we are wise – we can notice it, realize it’s swift movement and appreciate as many moments as we can.

Leave a Reply

