Celebrity

May 31, 2010

What is it with people and celebrities? This desire to desperately meet them. Now, if you are a serious fan of someone and wish to convey your admiration – I say great – write them a letter. I spent many years in my youth working in the business (an incarnation before what I do now)and  it doesn’t faze me – never did. These are people who put their pants on one leg at a time, like the rest of us. Eat, brush their teeth, worry about the budget….people stuff. I think that the general public has this idea that celebrities are different – they are not. Celebrities are simply people whose jobs require them to be in the spotlight. It never ceases to fascinate me how people will line-up for hours just hoping to meet a their celebrity of choice to shake hands and squeak out a HelloIjustLoveYou…I call this “touching the robe”. I think that for a lot of people, the idea that if they meet their celebrity and “touch their robe” they will somehow, magically be forever changed – their own lives will change. Well, they will – for about a week and perhaps at the next two BBQ/dinner parties when they recount the story.

Now my job is quite different  (although running a preschool classroom is not unlike running a band)  but one thing remains – my sense of protection. When the occasional celebrity does cross my path (which happens from time to time), I feel this den-motherish need to protect them from those who only want to know them so that they can say they have “touched the robe”….old habits die hard….or in my case – never quite. You’re safe with me!

Leave a Reply

