Sew What?

May 1, 2010

There I was – on a warm Thursday evening  in the chic-est “salon” – a fabulous sewing lounge called Emeline and Annabelle’s. I took the plunge and decided to learn how to sew by taking the A-line Skirt class. I had missed the opening night so this was my first foray into the lounge. Beautifully bright with the name of the lounge elegantly etched in the huge windows. Two large tables  to pin, cut and lay patterns on and a wall with a sophisticated selection of fabrics and coordinating threads. Suzanne ran the lesson and gently led us as we learned how to make our own patterns – yes make our very own patterns, to our specific body requirements! I will admit that I wrestled with the math at first (hey – I had put in a full day of work!) but Suzanne was patient and before I knew it I was measuring, drawing and pinning my way to success. Smooth contemporary jazz gave a relaxed feeling to the experience – at one point tempting me to order a martini…but this is not that kind of lounge! A comforting cup of cappuccino sufficed.

I chose beautiful aqua/cream floral print with petite red dots here and there, for my skirt and now – I am counting the days until next week when I get to cut out and sew up my creation. I can’t wait to see what other workshop/classes I can take…..I think this will become my weekly habit!

3 Responses to “Sew What?”

  1. emeline Says:

    Thank you so much for the lovely words- my only regret is that I wasn’t there to see you in cutting action!
    Next workshop will be on my duty, okay?

  2. Annabelle Says:

    Thanks so much! It was such a lovely evening – and your French General fabric is going to look so fantastic – can not wait to see the end result next Thursday!

  3. arly Says:

    How did it turn out??


Leave a Reply

