Alternate Universe

April 18, 2010

My son asked me if I’d take him over to the mall this afternoon – I reminded him that the stores will be closing earlier today and he still wants to shower. He rolls his eyes heavenward (of course I can see that) and sighs as he tells me that once he finishes clearing out the dishwasher he’s going to grab his shower and be ready – “20 minutes tops”…. In all fairness, I think that most teenagers live in an alternate universe where life speeds by, at the speed of light – but for the rest of us here on earth it moves quite s-l-o-w-l-y.

So, just for the record, in this time period I have loaded the dishwasher, hand-washed the other dishes, put away food, watered the plants and have done my nails AND am now “grabbing” a few minutes to write my blog….I think he’s still in the shower.

Leave a Reply

