Falling In Love, Again

October 3, 2009

This process is very interesting to me. When I was a young woman, I had fallen in love a couple of times and I fell in love each time one of my children was born(different of course but still a rush) and I fell in love with my wonderful husband almost 25 years ago.

Intellectually I always understood that people could fall in love again (hence the term re-marriage) but I didn’t think much further than that. I do remember my mother-in-law once telling me how, when she would be sitting in the car waiting for my father-in-law to come out of the bank or a store, her heart would sometimes skip a beat when she saw him walking back to her as the same 25 year old young man he had been when they were first together. This was hard for me to imagine as they were almost 60 years old at the time.

Now I will tell you that while I love my husband deeply  – I have also fallen in love with him all over again, from time to time. Falling in love is this unexpected rush of a feeling, this little spark in your heart that ignites and bursts into flame – different from the slow and steady fire that daily burns within it. Yesterday, I dropped him off at the subway station – he was standing on the street corner waiting for the light to change….I was in the car watching him as he stood there – the wind blowing his hair. I suddenly caught my breath – he looked so sexy standing there – like the young man that had first captured my heart. He turned to look back at me and as if he was reading my thoughts and gave me a wink and a smile…my heart soared!  The magical moment was only broken by the car horn tooting me from behind to get moving as the light has turned green. Ahhhhh love.

One Response to “Falling In Love, Again”

  1. Brenda Purdie Says:

    Isn’t love grand. I get the same feelings for Geordie except I don’t get to see the wind blowing through his hair anymore.


Leave a Reply

