Crazy Hour is Officially 3am

July 29, 2009

Last night, I woke up at 3am, itching from a bug bite. So I slipped downstairs to the bathroom where the “after bite” stuff is kept. I get to the bottom of the stairs and as I open the door the the bathroom I look down the hall at the front door – we have a small window in the front door – and I see someone looking in! My heart begins to race – could it be? Someone is peering in my window in the middle of the night? No – I tell myself – don’t be ridiculous – I look again…is that my son on his cell phone? Who is that? I turn on a light and it goes away…nothing – no one – just a reflection. I put the bug bite stuff on and walk back down the hall – I have to pass the front door – so I take one more look. There it is – someone is out there! I flick the lights on again….nothing. It’s just a weird reflection, that’s all – and intellectually I know that. But try to tell your body that at 3am. I got back into bed – adrenaline rushing through my veins like hot lava – my heart beating in my throat….it took me awhile to settle down – I look at the clock – it’s 3:18….I am in the middle of The Crazy Hour – that’s all.

Leave a Reply

