The Shadow of my Baby

April 11, 2009

Last night, my youngest who is 8, needed a bit of a cuddle after story-time. So I lay next to her and listened to the ups and downs of a day in the life of a third grader…then things got quiet as she drifted off to sleep and as I gently stroked her hair I could see the shadow of my baby by my side, reminiscent of those early nights in the hospital…I silently gasped to myself and thought over and over again…I am holding the shadow of  my baby in my hand!

Her hair smelled the same, and I felt that same sense of intoxication as I breathed her in. Dear God in Heaven – how lucky am I to be laying next to my child in this silent reverence and also with the infant that has been left behind so many years ago…will I ever stop seeing my child as my baby?

One Response to “The Shadow of my Baby”

  1. mightymorphinmama Says:

    1. mightymorphinmama Says:
    April 21st, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Never. My eldest is 14 and every time I look at him, my heart flip flops just like it does for his baby brother. I am finding great parallels between babyhood and puberty, the changes are just as fast and furious. And heart wrenching.


Leave a Reply

