Be Mine

February 18, 2009

Valentine’s Day at my house was perfect. The day started with me surprising my husband (for a change!) with a baseball jersey. O.K. – don’t all groan at once. My husband loves baseball but never – ever – puts it before me. While he would love nothing better than to sit and watch a game on a weekend…he only does it if there’s nothing else going on. All this to say that he was thrilled…thrilled and devastated all at the same time. He hadn’t gotten me anything but a card (he always buys a romantic card).But I honestly didn’t care – we don’t normally exchange gifts onValentine’s and besides – that’s not what it’s about…although I did get a gift – just seeing his boyish surprise at the jersery.

We relaxed with our youngest for the rest of the morning and then after lunch had to go grocery shopping. Yeah, yeah – I know that doesn’t sound romantic…but at some point you need to grow up and realize that unfortunately laundry and groceries are a part of life – and I wasn’t doing it alone – we were together. Flowers, candy and fancy dinners are nice but honestly – anyone can throw that together and not be there for you or with you on all the other days.

We came home and after putting the groceries away sat down with a glass of wine and watched the late afternoon movie – complete with candles lit everywhere. Dinner was sizzling away in the oven as we cuddled up on the couch and shared another glass of wine…and all I could think was that I had just spent a quiet, relaxing day with my someone who truly loves and adores me – he’s my best friend-with-benefits. We were laughing and talking – we were together…and not because we had to be – but because we wanted to be. Now that’s a Valentine’s Day.

One Response to “Be Mine”


  1. […] Sassy Talk wrote an interesting post today on “Be Mine” Here is a quick excerpt: My husband loves baseball but never – ever – puts it before me.The day started with me surprising my husband (for a change!) with a baseball jersey. O. K. – don’t all groan at once…


Leave a Reply

