Drifting at Sea

January 5, 2009

I’m finding it hard to let go of this friendship – this is someone with whom I have shared my deepest fears and my greatest joys…this was my go-to-gal when I needed a laugh to pick my spirits up. We discussed the worst parts of our day and schemed to come up with a better tomorrow.
Now I feel as though I am swimming with my head just above the water. I know I can make it to shore on my own but I feel sad that she won’t be jumping into the lifeboat with me. Sometimes you have to let go a bit – you need to make room for new people I suppose – you need to surround yourself with the people who actually want your energy – not those who drain it.
I’m still paddling!

One Response to “Drifting at Sea”


  1. My wife got into a lot of those relationships in college. She would be so drained from certain friendships. I encouraged her to find more relationships that were good for the people both ways.


Leave a Reply

