The Elusive Homemaker

November 27, 2008


Martha, Martha, Martha. I cannot begin to tell you how happy I am that you are not coming over to my house tonight because the dust bunnies have busted out of the hatch and are scampering madly about the house. And they are big bunnies – I’m pretty sure that you could rope a few of them, break their spirit and then saddle them up. Imagine a mechanical dust bunny – how hard would it be to stay on that beast?

I’m not a complete loser in the housekeeping department, it’s that I don’t do it daily. I’m more of a “company’s coming tonight, so we have to dust, vacuum and disinfect the entire house – NOW!” kind of gal. I guess that makes it a monthly deed. Of course dishes are done daily, as are bathrooms and beds generally made (hey, I have two teenagers, remember?) but the rest – well, let’s just say I’m a big believer in candlelight. Someone drops by and I’m rushing around with the matches lighting candles. Generally they ooh and ahh over the “ambiance” (is that what they’re calling it now?) and I manage to get through the impromptu visit unscathed. It’s not that I don’t want a clean house – it’s just that I don’t want to do it. I’m always running out of time for this chore because I feel like everything else is more important. Kids, jobs and family commitments come first, followed closely by things I like to (writing, artwork)…and then it’s time for bed – how convenient. Besides – it’ll all be there tomorrow, just waiting patiently for me.

My family doesn’t complain and truth be told it’s nowhere near as bad as I’m making it out to be. I think I just feel that I should be doing more, isn’t that every woman’s ailment? I should be polishing the silver regularly or dusting the furniture and photographs or washing the floors everyday. It’s probably more a case of me thinking that I should do more. My family? Oh my family helps out – make no mistake. Kids do the dishwasher, some bathroom duty, some babysitting and on those “Company’s Coming” days, they fall into action. Could the kids do more – yeah, probably, but in the end how much does it really matter? My husband is the King of Laundry, not only sorting/washing/drying it all but also folding it all too (I could go on about what a wonderful husband, father and partner he is – but that is most certainly a chapter on to itself).

This week I’m suffering a dilemma. My mother-in-law is arriving this weekend for a short visit and we have not seen her in just over two years. Will I have time to clean my oven before then? It’s bad enough that I’ve just realized that what I thought was a fabulous faux-wood grain finish on my kitchen cabinets is actually grime within the grooves…. I’m not even sure Mr. Clean can help finish the job in time. It’s times like this that I am grateful that the woman wears eyeglasses. Oh, I get along with my mother-in-law, always have. She is truly the perfect houseguest; I couldn’t ask for better and she is not the judgmental type so I don’t expect her to perform any sort of white glove test. Still, I feel that the pressure’s on because you never know what might suddenly cause you to become fodder at the next family reunion. Hmmm…I wonder if those any of those dust bunnies are handy with a broom?

3 Responses to “The Elusive Homemaker”

  1. embardplamure Says:

    Hello. Your site & content excellent! Thank you for your wise words =)

  2. geoff daum Says:

    # geoff daum Says:
    February 10th, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Yep – I would agree with that.. Thanks for the line.

  3. helen williams Says:

    adminhelen | helen.williams@rci.rogers.com | IP: 70.24.152.97

    I say just enjoy your visit – plan lots of things during the day to get her out of the house – use those candles at night and one trick I have been told works….. pull out the cleaning stuff and when she arrives tell her you must have written the time down wrong – and that you were just doing the cleaning. Of course it would be rude to continue so you can put it all away and tell her that you would rather spend the time with her – not cleaning!

    Have a great visit!

    Helen


Leave a Reply

